Convent of St. John of the Cross (Convento de San Juan de la Cruz)

Get directionsregional interest
Added by JMM

St. John of the Cross founded the convent in 1588 and led the community as prior until 1591. His head and body are located in a side chapel. Although no longer an active monastery, the site serves as a sanctuary for spiritual exercises. Pope St. John Paul II visited the site in 1982.

Last updated 3/16/2026
Loading map…